Four Pro Bentley Continental to contest 2019 Total 24 Hours of Spa

4 December 2018

In 2019 Bentley Motorsport will enter both the Intercontinental GT Challenge and Blancpain GT Series Endurance Cup, with a four-car Pro-class entry in the season’s longest and largest race, the Total 24 Hours of Spa.

Following a successful development year for the second generation Continental GT3, Bentley Team M-Sport will challenge for overall honours in two of the highest profile GT championships in the world with its pair of race cars and six works team drivers. For the Total 24 Hours of Spa, the team will run two additional pro-class entries with all drivers to be confirmed in the coming weeks.

All six of the Bentley Motorsport works team racing drivers have been retained for the 2019 season. Vincent Abril, Jules Gounon, Steven Kane, Jordan Pepper, Andy Soucek and Maxime Soulet will once again compete for Bentley Team M-Sport, as well as being available for Bentley’s global teams to utilise.

Bentley’s Director of Motorsport, Brian Gush, comments: “From the start of our GT3 programme, the Blancpain GT Series Endurance Cup has provided an ideal platform for us to demonstrate the performance of our cars and develop them for our customers to race around the world. The Intercontinental GT Challenge allows us to extend our programme outside of Europe, which is vital to reflect the global presence of our brand.”

“I’m pleased that we’ve retained all of our six works team drivers for 2019, and we will run at least one car at the Total 24 Hours of Spa with the top drivers promoted from our global customer team programme. Once these are confirmed, we will look at our options for the fourth car. The most important thing for us as a brand is that we have four driver teams capable of winning the race.”

The Total 24 Hours of Spa is the third round of the Intercontintal GT Challenge, which starts with the Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour before heading to California 8 Hours and continuing after Spa with Suzuka 10 Hours and the new-for-2019 nine-hour race at Kyalami.

(press release)