Former Total 24 Hours of Spa winners at the start of FIA GT World Cup

25 October 2017

With coordination of the SRO Motorsports Group, the 2017 FIA GT World Cup on the street circuit of Macau has secured a stellar line-up of drivers, with teams representing Audi, BMW, Ferrari, Honda, Lamborghini, Mercedes-AMG and Porsche.

Among the 20 drivers are two former winners of the Total 24 Hours of Spa, Romain Dumas (victorious in 2010) and Laurens Vanthoor (2014 winner and reigning FIA GT World Cup champion). Both will be at the wheel of a Porsche 911 GT3R in Macau.

The Guia street circuit will also see some 2017 Blancpain GT Series driver champions in action: Sprint Cup winner Robin Frijns will make his Macau debut at the wheel of the #1 Audi Sport Team WRT R8, while new overall champion and Endurance Cup winner Mirko Bortolotti is driving the #5 FFF Racing Team by ACM Lamborghini.

Several other participants in the FIA GT World Cup were regular Blancpain GT Series competitors in recent years, such as Nico Müller and Markus Pommer (both Audi), 2017 Total 24 Hours of Spa podium finishers Edoardo Mortara and Raffaele Marciello, Dani Juncadella and Maro Engel (all Mercedes-AMG), Felix Rosenqvist (runner-up 2016 Total 24 Hours of Spa, Ferrari), Renger Van Der Zande (Honda) and Tom Blomqvist (BMW).

The FIA GT World Cup will be held on November 18th-19th, with the drivers competing in two races, a qualifying event over 12 laps and the main Cup decider over 18. The Macau street circuit has one of the longest and fastest straights in street racing and 19 corners, including the incredibly tight Melco hairpin. The circuit is regarded as one of the most challenging in the world.

Click here to see the full entry list

Photo credits © JPrice - Macau GP